Looking to possibly buy a used Prowler. Need your HELP...... - Arctic Cat Prowler Forums: Prowler UTV Forum
Arctic Cat Prowler General Discussions General discussions pertaining to the Arctic Cat Prowler.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
Rides all the time

Looking to possibly buy a used Prowler. Need your HELP......

First off, I'm new to the site. I'm looking at possibly buying a used Prowler and need your help. I'm not sure of the year yet, but I think it is the first year they came out (not sure when that was).

Anyway, the Prowler has an issue with the transmission. Friend thinks the output shaft might be stripped out, but he isn't 100% sure without taking it apart. I was just trying to get an idea of the cost to have something like this repaired by a shop? And what it might cost me to do myself? Is this a pretty big undertaking? I've never worked on one before, but I am mechanically inclined (do most of my own vehicle maintenance and repairs). Any help is greatly appreciated.....

Last question. Are you guys happy with your Prowlers? Are there any issues with the first year Prowlers that would be a reason to stay away from them?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 06:17 PM
Loyal Member

Welcome to the site out west. The first year was 06. And that should be a 650.
A couple of things it could be,
1. Primary clutch with stripped out splines in the steel hub. Relatively cheap and easy to do yourself.
2. Broken belt. Again relatively cheap and easy to do yourself.
3. Broken bevel gear. Kinda pricey and a pretty good set of tools and knowledge needed.
These are just a few things that could be wrong. Just throwing stuff out there. I do have a few used parts for trannies.

Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 07-10-2011, 06:52 PM Thread Starter
Rides all the time

Quote: