Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner

2006 650xt h1

8K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  Noel 
#1 ·
some blue smoke coming out the exhaust when I get on it. the smell in the cab is strong looks like 1 quart of oil burnedthis weekend. what should i tear down first. does the piston rings need changing? if so is there a place I can get a service manual to help pull engine apart. I'm new to small engines tear downs. let me know what you guys think.

#2 ·
noel.its for sure gone have to be tore down.somewhere on here you can down load the service manual. give it a day or two,somebody will give you a better answer. how many miles,and did you buy it new.

#3 ·
no bought it used. the gauge is not working flickering on and of. it does have 264 hrs from what the guy that sold it to me said. i trusted him. really good friend of mine. I was thinking maybe the valve seals could be bad. it runs really good no leaks at all. I changed the battery hoping it would fix the gauge, didn't work any idea on the gauge fix?

#5 ·
rings

noel, i would do a compression check, with it blowing smoke when you get on it i would have to say time for rebuild.either that or your valve seals are gone. some times you always dont know how well maint was performed.

#7 ·
some blue smoke coming out the exhaust when I get on it. the smell in the cab is strong looks like 1 quart of oil burnedthis weekend. what should i tear down first. does the piston rings need changing? if so is there a place I can get a service manual to help pull engine apart. I'm new to small engines tear downs. let me know what you guys think.
Did you down load your service manual? I can email you one. What model and year?

#8 ·