Gears? - Arctic Cat Prowler Forums: Prowler UTV Forum
Arctic Cat Prowler General Discussions General discussions pertaining to the Arctic Cat Prowler.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-09-2009, 10:18 AM Thread Starter

Gears?

I am new to the utv market but have been wheeling an 83 cj7 for years. When I put bigger tires on my jeep I also changed the diff gears, I have not found any info on this in prowlers. I saw a pic on this site from plow boy with 33" thornbirds on that prowler, do you change gearing? can a 700 prowler still sling mud with 33's? Also I am use to seeing tsl boggers go through any nearly anything on jeeps of course, and was thinking about putting some modified 31" boggers on my prowler, But i havent seen any prowlers with boggers, I know they weight a little more. Like I said I am new to utv's and the tire styles, would it be better to just get a atv mud tire? What combo do i need to run 30-31" tires? thanks for the help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-09-2009, 11:12 AM
Founding Member

i went with truck tires because i drive on the roads going between farms..i dont mud my prowler so thats why i went with thornbirds instead of boggers...i did some clutch work when i first put oversize tires on...hopefully i will be installing 4.0 gears this winter...in high i'm lacking some power but in low i can go though anything we have for terrain here on the farm

2008 Prowler XTX
full cab
4-ITP 15"SS 112 rims
33x10.5-15 thornbirds on all four corners
suspension built by diecastplaycars.com
6" Over Long Travel Suspension-jacked up 5"
sportin' 19" of ground clearance
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-09-2009, 11:32 AM Thread Starter