New to the utv world and can use some prowler help - Arctic Cat Prowler Forums: Prowler UTV Forum
Member Introductions We are happy to have you with us, please take a moment to introduce yourself to the rest of the members.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-10-2017, 09:55 AM Thread Starter

Question New to the utv world and can use some prowler help

Hello everyone! I have been running 2wd chain driven atvs for about 15 years, was in an auto accident and forced to get out if the atv scene for a few years. I have now decided to try again with a utv. I am new to the utv world, 4wd, and belt drives and just purchased a 2010 PROWLER H1 xtx 700 efi from a relative. I bought it under value because he confidently explained it needed a belt. I have the machine home and in 4wd or locked 4wd it runs great in H, L and R. If I leave it in 2wd (H, L, or R) it does not want to engage to move. It tries to. I followed the PROWLER service manual and checked the shift linkages and they are fine. With the shift linkage cable off and manually putting it in any gear it reacts the same as described above. If you play with throttle you can sometimes get it to accelerate. It has a weird oil/clutch smell when riding it. Upon starting to investigate, I do not believe the belt is the problem or both 4wd and 2wd would have the same problem. (I did not check the belt for thjs reason) I have read posts on this forum and think it may be the turf saver rear. I was about to puchase the parts to address the rear: (2) 1/2 shafts 1502-938, (1) ring gear 36T 1402-032, (1) O ring 0423-149. The local Arctic Cat service center said it sounds like an oil seal is leaking oil allowing belt/clutch to slip. I don't think this to be correct or it should do it in both 2wd and 4wd. Can anyone please share their thoughts/experiences with me?

Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-10-2017, 10:19 AM