Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for possible ideas to fix my machine.. By all means i am not a mechanic but i can turn a wrench when needed.. The issue i am having is when my primary and secondary clutch were installed with a new belt i now have a clunking noise coming from my primary clutch.. When i rev it up the noise disappears.. As it idles longer it gets louder. My only thought was the one way bearing being bad. Any help would be much appreciated..

·
Administrator
7,229 Posts
Welcome to the site, I'm sure more replies will follow! Any other issues with the clutch? Engagement OK? One way clutch can be removed, you will lose engine braking under 10 mph, but it will not do any harm. Recently Arctic Cat issued a bulletin advising removing the one way bearing if you are pulling heavy loads, or other heavy load operations. I pulled my one way out several months ago, and notice very little change in my machine!

·
Premium Member
3,640 Posts
Welcome to the forum! You said it just started when you had the belt installed, there could be the chance that the belt was too far down between the clutch plates during the install and not allowing the nut to be completely tightened because it was clamping against the belt. That might be more of a rattle noise than clunking though.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for all the help. Looks to be the one way bearing. The bearing fell apart when my buddy took it out.

·
Administrator
7,229 Posts
Run without it and let us know what you think!

·
Administrator
7,229 Posts
Time's 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Everything is running great now! Thanks for the advice. Has anyone else had issues with the casting on the rear differential where the bolts goes through to the mounts break? Half of the casting is broke. The differential is in great working order.

·
Administrator
7,229 Posts