Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
389 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
4WD not working, front Driver side axle pulled out, how do i fix it? Loos pretty straight forward. Slide back into place slide boot back over it and clamp? How do i get the dirt out that has collected in there? What grease should i put back in? Should I just take it to a dealer since i am no mechanic?

Pics...

OH and I overextended the rear shock trying to level out the rear end. Its now like crooked and the spring is rubbing the shock. I guess just lift it so there's no weight on the tire and unscrew it farther and then try to tighten it back on so its not crooked and cross-threaded anymore? Ideas?

·
Premium Member
3,640 Posts
Something to try on the shock, you might try a clamp to compress the spring and take the pressure off the shock while you try to re-thread it. I'm new to the prowler also so can't be much help. You can download a free pdf repair manual here: mymowerparts.com/pdf/Arctic_Cat_ATV_Repair_and_Service_Manuals/

I still don't have enough post to allow me to insert links so you'll have to copy & paste it. Hope it helps.

·
Registered
583 Posts
Didn't the xtz have trouble with axles popping out and the dealer fix is an o-ring or newer style axles? Also I would buy a small auto type spring compressor if you need to compress the spring much at all, much safer.

·
Registered
583 Posts
Can't tell from that pick but your boot looks fine. You will for sure need to clean out the diff and refill with gear oil to an inch below fill hole.

·
Registered
389 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Can't tell from that pick but your boot looks fine. You will for sure need to clean out the diff and refill with gear oil to an inch below fill hole.
how do i clean it out? What do I spray something in there?

·
Registered
1,324 Posts
I would spray brake clean into the diff to flush out.

Then run some diff fluid through it with the plug out.