Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
had problem with my 08 prowler 650 today. seems like clutch is stuck. if you start it in gear it starts moving when the starter engages. if it starts up & moves, then when you stop it kills the engine. if you start it in neutral, it grinds when you try to put it in gear. makes noise if you rev it up in neutral. if you put it in gear with engine off, you can't roll the machine in either direction. any help? thanks

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
pulled belt cover off today. everything looks fine. if i engage the starter, the belt & pulleys turn with the engine, and the prowler tries to move if its gear.

·
Registered
1,489 Posts
I'm new to Prowlers, but I didn't even know you could start them in gear. My 2006 won't start unless it is in neutral. Do you have to hold the brake down or something while in gear? Sorry, didn't mean to get off topic....

·
Registered
618 Posts
Sounds like your idle is set to high

Should be around 1300 when warmed up

·
Registered
27 Posts
You will need to remove both cvt clutches then the inner cover....drain oil first. Once you have the inner cover off you will see a 1 way bearing on your internal wet clutch. remove the left hand threaded nut and remove the one way bearing all together if you dont care for engine breaking...or replace it ith new... the green dot must face out.

·
Founding Member
3,867 Posts