Mods: If the links to other sites are against the rules please delete (but consider the info I'm trying to convey
Yes I was wondering about the dunes. AZ has a helmet law for quads and dirt bikes, which applies to kids in the utv's also. Are there any other dune rules I need to follow?
AZ has a helmet law for people under 18. (Once again, a good idea even if not required)
Here is a link to some of the rules in the Imperial Sand Dunes.
Imperial Sand Dunes Rules And Regulations - GlamisDunes.com
Here's some more info from 'glamisonline.com'. See question #3.
Rhino Q&A Courtesy of The Imperial Co. Sheriff Question #1: Are rear seats and passengers in a Rhino legal?
Answer: Yes, the California Vehicle Code Section 23116c defines passengers in a truck bed area legal if the passenger(s) use federally approved restraint device. This rule when applied to UTV’s means having the rear seat securely mounted to the vehicle, (31400 CVC), and a Seatbelt for each passenger, (31405a CVC).
Question #2: Are Roll cages required for rear seat passengers?
Answer: Roll cages are recommended but not required at this time.
Question #3: Are helmets required to ride a UTV’s.
Answer: Helmets are recommended but not required at this time.
Question #4: Does my UTV have to be registered to operate on California public lands?
Answer: Yes, The California OHVR Division says that all vehicles operated off-highway on Public Lands in California are required to be street-licensed or registered as an off-highway vehicle (OHV). If you are visiting California from another state and your vehicle does not have current registration from your home state, you must purchase a California Nonresident OHV Use Permit (sticker) before you go off-roading. The current web site is OHV
Question #5: Is there a speed limit in the desert?
Answer: Yes, California Vehicle Code 38310 defines the PRIMA FACIE SPEED LIMIT, No motor vehicle shall exceed 15 mph within 50 feet of any campground, campsite, or concentration of people or animals.
Question #6: What is the legal age to operate a UTV.
Answer: There is no age requirement to operator a UTV. An operator of a UTV should be able to easily reach/operate the controls to safely operate a UTV. Children under the age of 14 should be supervised by an adult.
Question #7: Do I need a safety flag for the Imperial Sand Dunes Recreational area?
Answer: Yes, All vehicles shall be equipped with an 8 foot whip mast and a 6x12 inch red or orange flag. Masts must be securely mounted to the vehicle and extend 8 feet from the ground to the mast tip.
Question #8: Do I need a drivers license to operate a UTV?
Answer: No, however California Vehicle Code section 14601 states that driving while your license is suspended/revoked off road as well as on road is against the law.