Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to owning a UTV. How deep of water and mud can I go in with a stock Prowler 700 XTX before I need to install a snorkel?

·
Registered
412 Posts
Generally the rule of thumb is the floor-board, but I think everyone goes deeper than that. I'm not sure what (if anything) is different on the 700 vs the 650 regarding the location of components. But on my 650 going from bottom up the main water concerns are 1st-Belt Housing intake and exhaust, 2nd Spark Plug, 3rd Intake. I would suggest putting some di-electric grease in your spark-plug boot and some marine grade silicone sealant or grease on your belt intake and exhaus connections. Then you almost have to get your butt wet before you have alot to worry about. Not to mention all you have to buy is a couple tubes off sealant to ensure ALOT doesn't go wrong!

P.S. If you ever decide to snorkel remember you don't have to buy an expensive kit. A Saturday and about $50 at Lowes or Home Depot and your done. And you end up with just about the same result at a $250 kit.

·
Registered
733 Posts
I'm with Daryl on that, a good rule of thumb is to not let the messy stuff get above the floor boards, the cvt exhaust is down quite low (down by the rear brake) on the 2010's and 11's Anyway.. I don't go really deep on a regular basis with mine but sometimes I need to cross deeper water areas so a snorkel made sense to have just piece of mind.. And it helps your motor breath better and cleaner. Took me an afternoon and about 50 bucks for plumbing supplies.. And a few cold ones :)

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the information. That's is deep as I have gone. I just wanted to know for the future.

·
Premium Member
8,040 Posts