Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,489 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I'm new to the site. I'm looking at possibly buying a used Prowler and need your help. I'm not sure of the year yet, but I think it is the first year they came out (not sure when that was).

Anyway, the Prowler has an issue with the transmission. Friend thinks the output shaft might be stripped out, but he isn't 100% sure without taking it apart. I was just trying to get an idea of the cost to have something like this repaired by a shop? And what it might cost me to do myself? Is this a pretty big undertaking? I've never worked on one before, but I am mechanically inclined (do most of my own vehicle maintenance and repairs). Any help is greatly appreciated.....

Last question. Are you guys happy with your Prowlers? Are there any issues with the first year Prowlers that would be a reason to stay away from them?

·
Registered
3,564 Posts
Welcome to the site out west. The first year was 06. And that should be a 650.
A couple of things it could be,
1. Primary clutch with stripped out splines in the steel hub. Relatively cheap and easy to do yourself.
2. Broken belt. Again relatively cheap and easy to do yourself.
3. Broken bevel gear. Kinda pricey and a pretty good set of tools and knowledge needed.
These are just a few things that could be wrong. Just throwing stuff out there. I do have a few used parts for trannies.

Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

·
Registered
1,489 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome to the site out west. The first year was 06. And that should be a 650.
A couple of things it could be,
1. Primary clutch with stripped out splines in the steel hub. Relatively cheap and easy to do yourself.
2. Broken belt. Again relatively cheap and easy to do yourself.
3. Broken bevel gear. Kinda pricey and a pretty good set of tools and knowledge needed.