Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 2011 700 xtx and am new to Artic Cats and side by sides have always had quads. Is there anything to look out for or things needed to watch for on the Prowler. Really like it so far but only have 20 miles so far.:)

·
Registered
2,681 Posts
Welcome, I love my Prowler. Just dont expect it to be some thing thats its not.

·
Premium Member
3,640 Posts
I'm new to the Prowler scene myself, couldn't spring for a new one I got a '07, in the past I've had a rail buggy, a few dirt bikes, and a Kawasaki Duckster 3 wheeler. Not sure what to expect from my Prowler but I plan to play in the mud a little, push some snow. I also work for the local Fire/EMS Dept. we usually borrow a couple of Gators to use as quick response vehicles during City festivals, I'll use mine this year.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Since everyone so far is just blowing smoke, I'll fill you in a bit.

If all your doing is mild trail and road riding then they will hold up just fine but there are some weak points that will show up fairly quickly if your are a little more aggressive.

-The Tie rods are very weak and need to be reinforced, also the the plate that the steering rack mounts to is quite flimsy as well, no real easy way to fix this though. Keep a eye on both.

-If you ride in dusty conditions the air filter will plug very quickly due to the intake location, Check after every ride if in heavy dust

-Be carefully when in the mud because the tranny will be very difficult to shift when there is a load on the tires, so changing from L to R is some times impossible. Don't pull too hard on the shifter cause the arm that attaches to the shift cable will bend very easy, it needs to be re-enforced as well.