Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I've been scouring the boards for a few months since I bought my "project" Prowler. It is an 06 650 that was pretty much stock except for some shocks. I bought it with a blown up engine. I have added a cage which included deleting the bed. I'm still undecided on buying a new engine or re-powering it with a Can-am 800. For the 3K it looks like it will cost me from Cat for an engine I will be quite a ways towards the re-power.

I tried posting photos, but will have to wait until I have 15 post, I did upload to a gallery which should be available after a moderator approves the photos.

·
Premium Member
8,040 Posts
Hi everyone,
I've been scouring the boards for a few months since I bought my "project" Prowler. It is an 06 650 that was pretty much stock except for some shocks. I bought it with a blown up engine. I have added a cage which included deleting the bed. I'm still undecided on buying a new engine or re-powering it with a Can-am 800. For the 3K it looks like it will cost me from Cat for an engine I will be quite a ways towards the re-power.

I tried posting photos, but will have to wait until I have 15 post, I did upload to a gallery which should be available after a moderator approves the photos.
how much did they tell you at articcat for a motor,and do you know whats wrong with the 650 motor.

·
Registered
1,489 Posts
What is wrong with your 650 motor? I rebuilt mine, and it turned out to be easier than I thought. Might save yourself a lot of money by just rebuilding what you have (depending on what is wrong).

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
My engine dropped a valve, it has a hole in the jug, the head needs at least new a new guide and seat, but it is pretty hammered, it would probably need replaced. The piston was completely gone into little pieces. The rod bearing has lots of slop, and it punched a hole (fixable) in the case.