Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner

New Prowler 1000 owner

2K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  MichelleButler98yKl 
#1 ·
Hi all,
Another newbie here, Just wanted to check in with everyone,
Got into a 09 Prowler 1000,
It came from Cali and was set with full cage and bench seat in back with long travel A-arms, I don’t know what else has been done. But what I have found was a few things that tell me the people who put it together may not have been paying attention, calipers mounts upside down so they couldn’t get the air out of them.
and the rear differential mount was cracked and twisted... so after fixing minors things I’m using it as a property maintenance machine, I’ve made tool racks for our weed whackers and shovel ext. so once I work all the bugs out I’ll take out on trips.

So I have two questions.
1-The rear Differential is locked or welded? I’ve changed the seals on the diff and it still wheeps, not sure if bearing or something is warn, where can I find rebuild parts or a complete diff, do the new and old ones interchange if I wanted to update to the electric locking differential... I think I saw that?
2 what is the over drive switch do, next to the shifter and E-brake, doesn’t seam to do anything when driving?
Anyway good to meet you all, I’m in the NW Washington with 30acer of playground if anyone wants to come camp.
Happy 4th of July
Shaums
Land vehicle Motor vehicle All-terrain vehicle Vehicle Automotive tire

See less See more
#2 ·
The rear is a spool type rear so it is locked full time, the Overdrive switch you speak of is a speed limiter (rev limiter) over ride for when you are backing up in reverse in 4wd.

#3 ·
Thanks @dieselracer, that makes sense I don’t know if I would have figured out that switch, but I know it will help since I back up out of our drive way a few hundred feet each time I get in, this is so I don’t stir up the gravel in our drive way from turning.
I guess I am looking for a turf mode for the rear diff?