Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my 1st time to post here, and my first time to do any work on my 09 prowler 1000. (I'm no mechanic). After watching AirDam's video I thought it was easy enough for me to do.Got new belt on and everything went well until I went to fire machine up. It started and ran for short time and then died, and won't start now. It will turn over and I see the belt and clutches turning, but won't start. Could I have done anything to clutches to cause it not to start?

·
Registered
2,390 Posts
Yeah like Chris says check the connection that runs from the top of your tank to the engine harness. Turn your key on but don't start it and you should hear fuel pressure building for about 3 seconds.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I hear the fuel pump when I turn key on. It started only for a few seconds right after belt change, but went dead and now it just turns over but won't start. I should have known better than to try this, the wife told me just to take it to dealer. I'm blaming this on the video,made it look to easy even for me. Thanks guys for the replies. I do enjoy reading posts here on forum.

·
Registered
3,564 Posts
It takes a few things to run. Air, fuel, spark and compression. We are gonna assume it has air and compression. Does the fuel line get hard like there is pressure? Squeeze it between you fingers and turn the key on. You should feel it pump up some. If you have this you have fuel so that would leave spark. Double check that you did not accidentally unplug any part of the harness in any area that you were working in. Did you disconnect the battery while you had it apart?

Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
No I didn't disconnect battery. I will try checking harness and fuel line. But it started and ran for a few seconds and then went dead on its own.

·