Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3,295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new here and also a new SxS rider

My XTZ seams to be very challenged in the shock dept. they are stock and have had no adjusting. My ride areas are mountain fire road/log roads/skidder paths with alot of rutted roads and many hills/steep mountain climbs lots of rock shale and rock roads in the 4" to 2' range .. many of the trails are rock garden for long distance, ok for that part of the story

Im a regular sized feller 6'7" and in the 350ish range depending on the camp cooks ability on any given day :) , don't always take the "proper line" on the trail or mountain we're climbing. somewhat of a newer rider but have a pretty good background in dirt bikes and some 4x4 CJ7 stuff so not a total newby to off road.

anyway my main question is , I have noticed that the stock shocks are not what I would call "the best" lol .. is there anything that you guys have done to improve them or extend the time of use before going to after market better quality ones ?

maybe a spacer under the spring to preload before taking / making all the adjustment into them .. thinking that would help compensate for my normal size dainty body loading them and removing some of the clearance or travel.

any suggestions would be great ...

btw snow is falling and it's in low to the mid teens temp outside now so the snow should cap/crust over making for some good riding tomorrow and sunday.

my ride is a stock '09 XTZ with right at 200 miles and a bit over a week old

THANKS for looking Gary

·
Premium Member
1,603 Posts
I turned mine all the way tight, showing as much of the threads as possible. This helped lesson the bottoming out I was getting in the rear. I ran it like that for a while and then went to aftermarket shocks.

·
Registered
166 Posts