Arctic Cat Prowler Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I have yet to race a stock XTZ and I dont claim to have something special. However a few people have seen my machine run and have asked a few questions and I hope this answers them. I have done a lot of work to my machine and I believe the results have been very good however I have no experience in how a stock XTZ runs because the only time I have in a stock one was at around 9000ft elivation and I cant compare that to performance in the dunes which is way different terrain and under 1000ft I believe.
That being said these are the findings I have found in testing:
First time I took it to the dunes for testing I was running the Full Muzzy exhaust a PC-V powercommander and I have a custom intake consisting of a pair of stock 1000 throttle boddies adapted individually to the stock intake manifolds that I ported to match the flow of the throttle boddies. and to finish off the setup I have just a pair of uni filters mounted directly to the tb's. I thought that the machine was strong but in high gear I found quickly that I was just not getting the rpm I needed to pull the large hills at the speeds I wanted, however in low gear the car felt much better at the hill. In Low gear the car would rev to around 7200-7300 climbing Freeway hill at Gordons well and man it felt very strong I could tell that with these engine upgrades to fully max there potential this thing needs to rev because it ran up the hill much faster than in High gear which would only rev to around 5200 rpm up the hill.